top of page
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was the first historically black sorority and was founded on January 15th, 1908 on the campus of Howard University. The Founders or "20 Pearls" were lead by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and consisted of the following ladies:
                                              Joanna Berry           Norma Boyd
                                              Julia Brooks             Anna Easter Brown 
                                              Beulah Burke           Lillie Burke
                                              Marjorie Hill            Margaret Flagg Holmes 
                                              Ethel Jones               Sarah Merriwether
                                              Alice Murray            Lavinia Norman
                                              Nellie Pratt               Nelley Quander
                                              Lucy Diggs Slowe     Minnie Smith 
                                              Carrie Snowden       Marie Woolfolk Taylor 
                                              Harriet Terry
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was then incorporated on January 29th, 1913. For more on the history and general information on the sorority, please visit

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated. 

Launching New


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated is currently participating in a new service project that inludes the following dimensions:   

1. Educational Enrichment

2. Health Promotion

3. Family Strengthening

4. Environmental Ownership

5. Global Impact

bottom of page